Online Connection

It really boils down to this: that all life is interrelated. We are all caught in an inescapable network of   mutuality, tired into a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one destiny, affects all indirectly   – Martin Luther King Jr.

Agreed, we are not alone in this universe. But that’s the beauty of it. In this century we are succumbed to the internet mutiny, everyone is on the internet today, there are over a billion people on Facebook, 100 million Instagram users, and hundreds of such platforms online that we use. We connect and meet thousands of people from a 1000 miles away to continents away and maybe even 2 miles away (if its a match!), probably the connection we share with everyone today is bonded over these platforms. I use twitter to inform news to my friends in 140 character, Facebook to tell them how I am feeling, Instagram to show them my “fun times”, 4 Square to check in on a new location, Pintrest to show my interests, Snapchat to make them meet my new friends, Tumblr to show my real self and the list goes on and on. I’m registered to a lot of websites online, but one place I am traumatized to find myself is on Google. Apparently they know everything about me, and the people who don’t ‘know me’, ‘know me’.

 

2 Comments

  1. I think it’s really funny that we allow ourselves to share all this information, but the minute we end up on google its too much. We forget that anyone can find us on social media and whether we are on google or not we are still trackable. I guess when we use google to search someone its usually celebrities pictures we see in the images. So to see our face somewhere we use to search well known people makes us feel like we have as much privacy as a celebrity. Which is ultimately none at all.

    Like

  2. I agree with the comment above. We put that information about ourselves in variety of different websites, we choose to share it with the world, even though we feel live we’re only sharing with our friends. Google just has all that information we put up, in one place, maybe that’s why it looks scary that anyone can find out information about you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

